Roommate Search for Shared Home in Narberth:

Looking for one roommate to share in renting a 3 bdrm/1 bthrm house in Narberth. My friend is leaving the house in March and it is managed by University City Housing (UCH).  The house will be available for move-in sometime between March 1st and March 15th for a one year lease. Photos of the house are available here:

Monthly rent is $2050, which we will split. The house is 1,100 square feet, has 3 floors not counting the basement, and has a front porch and nice back yard. Water and trash are included in the rent payment, so utility costs are power, gas (for cooking), internet and heating (oil) which should be around ~$100-125/month each, maybe up to 150 in height of winter/summer (might be a high estimate). There is an A/C unit for each bedroom. There is a washer/dryer in unit. Street parking is available if you get a $5 borough parking permit, and it is never difficult to find parking on the block. The house is within a few blocks of the Narberth train station and the ‘Downtown’ area. 

I and future roommate would each get an office/bonus room too (the third unused bedroom, and a small den room on the third floor). The size of the “office” rooms and bedrooms work out where rent could be equal, or a little more for one person if they wanted both the bigger bedroom and bigger office (I don’t). 

I have cats, which are allowed at the property, so if you are allergic or are uncomfortable around animals, this isn’t the property for you. Pets are permissible as my cats are used to being around other animals.  House will be unfurnished. I have some furniture that could be used for the common areas, and kitchen basics – can give more details. 

About me: I am a woman in my late 20s. I work as a public interest lawyer and will be working remotely from home often at least through this spring. I don’t smoke but would not mind if you did so outside.

More Rental/Application details: I still need to ask the property management about the security deposit due before taking occupancy of the house, but it cannot be more than $4100 (equal to 2 months’ rent. Any additional ask for ‘last month’s rent’ cannot make the total $ asked for exceed $4100 either). TBD roommate would have to submit application form (which I have) and pay a $30 application fee to UCH. 

I have not seen many available rentals at this size and price in the area. If you are intrigued by the house and want to chat more, please contact me at On my end, I am ready to move on securing this rental as soon as I find a roommate. Thanks!  

Lily Austin 

| E: 

pronouns: she/her/hers